Accepting The Unacceptable: The Stages Of Grief

  • Husband helping wife overcome grief

Grief is a natural response to loss, but accepting the unacceptable can be difficult. There are five stages of grief, and it’s important to go through them all in order to heal. Denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance are all necessary steps in the healing process. They may happen in that sequence, or in a completely different order. People often get stuck in one stage or another, but it’s important to keep trying to move through the stages and eventually reach acceptance.

The First Stage Of Grief: Denial

Denial is the first stage of grief. It’s a natural response to a traumatic event, and it helps us cope in the early days after a loss. Denial allows us to function and carry on with our lives while we come to terms with what has happened.

But if denial lasts too long or becomes an ongoing way of dealing with difficult situations, it can be harmful. When we’re stuck in denial, we can’t move forward and we can’t heal.

The Second Stage Of Grief: Anger

Anger is the second stage of grief. It is natural to feel angry when something bad happens. Anger helps us to express our feelings and it can help us to take action. However, it is important to remember that anger can be destructive if we dwell on it too much or direct it toward ourselves. It is important to find healthy ways to express and manage your feelings of anger. Talking to a trusted friend or family member, writing in a journal, or seeking professional help are some of the best ways to cope with feelings of anger during this difficult time.

The Third Stage Of Grief: Bargaining

Bargaining is the third stage of grief. During this stage, people often try to make deals with themselves or with a higher power in order to change the outcome of their tragedy. This can be difficult because although it may feel like a solution, it is impossible to go back in time and change what has happened. The best thing to do during this stage is to accept the reality of the situation and move forward as best you can.

The Fourth Stage Of Grief: Depression

Depression is the fourth stage of grief. It’s normal to experience feelings of sadness, emptiness, or despair after losing someone or something important. Depression is a very painful stage, but it is also an important part of the healing process. During this stage, it’s important for people to seek help from family and friends who can offer support and understanding. Professional counselling can also be beneficial in helping people cope with their emotions during this difficult time.

The Fifth Stage Of Grief: Acceptance

Acceptance is the fifth and final stage of grief. This is when people begin to accept the reality of their situation and embrace the pain that comes with it. Acceptance doesn’t mean that you have forgotten or moved on from your loss, but rather that you are able to move forward in life despite your grief. By coming to terms with what has happened, we can begin the healing process and eventually be able to look back at our memories without pain. Through acceptance, we can take comfort in knowing that life will go on.

If you are feeling overwhelmed by the emotions associated with a loss, consider seeking professional help. StartPoint Counselling can provide you with the support you need to get through this difficult time. Our counsellors are experienced in helping people deal with grief, and they can provide you with the tools you need to move forward. Visit our website or call us on 07 34581725 to learn more about how we can help.

You’ll be amazed how counselling can help both you and your child

You will find that talking with StartPoint Counselling Beenleigh is your starting point for happy relationships and mental wellbeing.

StartPoint Counselling Practice is conveniently located in Beenleigh close to Logan, Mt Warren Park, Stapylton, Homeview, Waterford, Loganholme and Yatala areas. However we also offer phone and telehealth consultations for your convenience, see more about Booking Appointments here.

We offer a 15-minute complimentary phone session with one of our experienced counsellors. Find out how we can equip you and your child to deal with their emotions.